Super Bowl MVPs Since 2000: Quarterbacks, Wide Receivers Dominate Award

Over the past couple of decades, the Super Bowl has been the stage to some truly iconic performances from legendary players, and equally memorable surprise showings from more unsung stars. Let’s take a look back at the Super Bowl MVP winners since 2000, the top performers from a fascinating era of football.

Super Bowl MVPs Since 2000

Super Bowl (Date)PlayerPositionTeam
LVII (February 12, 2023)Patrick MahomesQuarterbackKansas City Chiefs
LVI (February 13, 2022)Cooper KuppWide ReceiverLos Angeles Rams
LV (February 7, 2021)Tom BradyQuarterback Tampa Bay Buccaneers
LIV (February 2, 2020)Patrick MahomesQuarterbackKansas City Chiefs
LIII (February 3, 2019)Julian EdelmanWide ReceiverNew England Patriots
LII (February 4, 2018)Nick FolesQuarterbackPhiladelphia Eagles
LI (February 5, 2017)Tom BradyQuarterbackNew England Patriots
50 (February 7, 2016)Von MillerEdge RusherDenver Broncos
XLIX (February 1, 2015)Tom BradyQuarterbackNew England Patriots
XLVIII (February 2, 2014)Malcolm SmithLinebackerSeattle Seahawks
XLVII (February 3, 2013)Joe FlaccoQuarterbackBaltimore Ravens
XLVI (February 5, 2012)Eli ManningQuarterbackNew York Giants
XLV (February 6, 2011)Aaron RodgersQuarterbackGreen Bay Packers
XLIV (February 7, 2010)Drew BreesQuarterbackNew Orleans Saints
XLIII (February 1, 2009)Santonio HolmesWide ReceiverPittsburgh Steelers
XLII (February 3, 2008)Eli ManningQuarterbackNew York Giants
XLI (February 4, 2007)Peyton ManningQuarterbackIndianapolis Colts
XL (February 5, 2006)Hines WardWide ReceiverPittsburgh Steelers
XXXIX (February 6, 2005)Deion BranchWide ReceiverNew England Patriots
XXXVIII (February 1, 2004)Tom BradyQuarterbackNew England Patriots
XXXVII (January 26, 2003)Dexter JacksonSafetyTampa Bay Buccaneers
XXXVI (February 3, 2002)Tom BradyQuarterbackNew England Patriots
XXXV (January 28, 2001)Ray LewisLinebackerBaltimore Ravens
XXXIV (January 30, 2000)Kurt WarnerQuarterbackSt. Louis Rams

Over the past 24 years, the Super Bowl MVP award has been won by 15 quarterbacks, five wide receivers, two linebackers, one edge rusher, and one safety.

As is so often the case, Tom Brady’s name jumps off the page as a five-time winner. That’s more MVPs than anyone else has total Super Bowls at the quarterback position, a truly remarkable accomplishment.

The mid-2000s saw the Manning brothers win this award in back-to-back years, while the next decade saw shocking winners like Joe Flacco and Malcolm Smith. And of course, there are guys like Kurt Warner and Patrick Mahomes who won both the regular season MVP and the Super Bowl MVP.

Super Bowl 58 MVP Favorites

The two favorites to win the 2024 Super Bowl MVP award are quarterbacks Patrick Mahomes and Brock Purdy. After the quarterbacks, Christian McCaffrey has the shortest odds to win the award. Let’s take a look at some of the top candidates to secure this prestigious honor in Super Bowl 58 when the San Francisco 49ers take on the Kansas City Chiefs.

Patrick Mahomes (+140)

As a two-time winner, Mahomes would join some pretty ridiculous company with a third Super Bowl MVP. Only Joe Montana and Tom Brady have earned that many, and getting his third at such a young age would be quite the accomplishment for the Chiefs quarterback.

It’s hard to envision a Chiefs win that doesn’t end with Mahomes winning MVP- last time these teams clashed in the Super Bowl, Mahomes was terrible and still won the honor. His odds are reflective of that dichotomy; win the game and it’s likely him, lose and it’s a 49er.

Brock Purdy (+225)

Of course, the most-favored Niners player is their starting quarterback, Brock Purdy. It’s not a given that the Super Bowl MVP will be a quarterback like it is in the regular season, but he still certainly often has the best shot if his team wins.

Purdy’s odds aren’t as short as Mahomes’s even though the Niners are narrow favorites because he’s much less of a driving force; it’s frankly debatable how pivotal he even is to the team’s success. Still, if he’s able to steer the Niners to a win, he’ll be considered for this award.

Christian McCaffrey (+450)

This is perhaps the best value on the board. Given the Chiefs’ weakness in run defense, compared to their excellent pass prevention unit, McCaffrey is probably going to have to have a big day in order for his team to win. The fact that he’s even a finalist for regular season MVP as a running back is a testament to his excellence, as he led the league in both rushing and scrimmage yardage this year.

McCaffrey scores just about every game, and they’re often electric runs in the biggest moments. He should absolutely have a big day against Kansas City, and if his team wins, it could be enough to make him the first running back to win this award since Terrell Davis back in 1998.

Travis Kelce (+1200)

If the Chiefs win and it’s not Mahomes, it could very well be Kelce. He’s established himself as one of the great postseason performers of all time, sitting either at the top or just behind Jerry Rice on most career postseason receiving leaderboards.

Kelce had a tough season, but was fantastic against the Ravens. He’s been great when the Chiefs have needed him the most, and it wouldn’t be a total shocker to see him outshine his quarterback on the biggest stage in the NFL.

From starting my own blog in Middle School, to working on a friend’s in college, and finally joining the Lineups team this year, I’ve been writing about sports for over a decade and betting on them as long as I’ve been legally able. I graduated from the University of Michigan last year, where I took sports journalism classes alongside my business major. Having played and watched sports for almost my whole life, I aim to provide insight and entertainment, as well as profitable picks, in my writing about professional and collegiate leagues.

Hot NFL Stories